Bale scoops FWA Player of the Year award

Tottenham news: Gareth Bale adds to PFA prizes with football writers' gong

Pete South
Published 02/05/2013 12:16 by Pete South, read by 4,204 people.

Gareth Bale has scooped the Football Writers' Association Player of the Year award to go alongside the two PFA awards he won on Sunday.

The Tottenham forward claimed 53% of all votes from around 400 journalists, edging out Manchester United striker Robin van Persie, last year's winner, who polled 43%. 

Chelsea's Juan Mata came home in third place. Liverpool's Luis Suarez, a nominee for the PFA Player of the Year award won by Bale last Sunday, received just two votes.

Bale is the first Tottenham player to win the award since David Ginola in 1999.

The Welshman has been in sensational form this season - hitting 19 Premier League goals for Spurs to put them in contention for a top-four finish and Champions League qualification.

Bale, who won the PFA Young Player of the Season award to go along with the main prize on Sunday, described being honoured by the members of the FWA as a 'privilege'. 

"It is a huge honour to receive the Footballer of the Year award from the Football Writers’ Association," he said.

"It means a lot to win this award when you consider the number of players that have been outstanding for their clubs in the Barclays Premier League this season.

"I've been very fortunate to be playing in such a fantastic team and I owe a lot to my team-mates and, obviously, the manager who has shown such faith in me.

"This award has been won in the past by some of the greatest names in football and I consider it a privilege that the FWA have selected me to be named alongside them."

Andy Dunn, chairman of the FWA and chief sports writer for the Sunday Mirror said Bale just edged out Van Persie in a close-run race thanks to his knack for scoring spectacular - and important - goals.

"In a contest for votes that took so many late twists and turns, Gareth’s penchant for the spectacular captured the imagination," he said.

“He is a player who is rising inexorably towards the rarefied levels of world stars such as Lionel Messi and Cristiano Ronaldo.

“Twice the PFA Player of the Year and now, two months before his 24th birthday, the FWA Footballer of the Year.

“Let’s all hope he lights up the Barclays Premier League for many seasons to come.”

Other players who received votes for the award include Swansea's Michu - a controversial omission from the PFA Player of the Year shortlist, Manchester City full-back Pablo Zabaleta and Southampton forward Rickie Lambert.

Most Shared

Social Activity

You are logged into Facebook (Logout)

Social Activity (On/Off):

Most Commented

Most Read